MANTENO COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 5

Reorganization Meeting of the Board of Education Tuesday, April 28, 2009 – 6:50 p.m. **High School Library**

Open Meeting

The meeting was held in the library of the Manteno High School, and was called to order by President Pro-Tem Stauffenberg 7:45 p.m.

Roll Call The following members answered to roll call:

> G. Dodge P. Mallaney S. Martin M. Nelson G. Preston M. Stauffenberg – seven (7) J. Toepper

Also present: Supt. Russert, P. Russert, K. Meyer, D. Conrad, J. Palicki, T. Steele, J. Ruland, D. Christ, J. DePoister and Clerk Fortin – ten (10).

Visitors: J. Nelson, J. Emerson, K. Emerson, D. Fortin and R. Doig-Approximately five visitors.

Pledge of Allegiance President Pro-Tem Stauffenberg led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Appointment Moved by Dodge, seconded by Nelson to appoint Deb Fortin as

Of Recording Secretary. Voice vote – all ayes – seven (7). Nays – none (0).

Secretary Motion carried.

Swearing In Of New

Board Members President Pro-Tem Stauffenberg administered the oath of office to the newly elected School Board members: Samuel Martin, Patrick Mallaney and Jon Toepper.

Election of President

President Pro-Tem Stauffenberg opened the nominations for President of the Board of Education. Member Mallaney nominated Mark Stauffenberg, Member Martin seconded the motion. Since there were no further nominations heard, Secretary Pro-Tem Mallaney was instructed to cast a unanimous ballot for Member Stauffenberg and Member Stauffenberg was declared elected as President.

Election of

President Stauffenberg opened the nominations for Board Vice President. Vice President Member Nelson nominated Member Martin, Member Toepper seconded the motion. Since there were no further nominations heard, Secretary Pro-Tem Mallanev was instructed to cast a unanimous ballot for Member Martin and Member Martin was declared elected as Vice President.

Election of Secretary

President Stauffenberg opened the nominations for Board Secretary.

Member Nelson nominated Member Mallaney, and Member Toepper seconded the motion. Since no further nominations were heard, Secretary Pro-Tem Mallaney was instructed to cast a unanimous ballot for Member Mallaney and

Member Mallaney was declared elected as Secretary.

Approval of

Moved by Nelson, seconded by Martin to approve the following:

Board

Reorganizational

Items

<u>Appointment of School Treasurer</u> – Kathy Meyer for the 2009-2010 school year.

Establishment of Date, Time and Place of Regular Board Meetings – The fourth Tuesday of each month, at 6:30 p.m. in the High School Library be continued as the date, time, and place of the regular meetings of the Manteno CUSD #5 Board of Education.

<u>Adoption of Existing Board Policies</u> – Existing Board Policies to be adopted.

<u>Designation of Depositories for District Funds</u> – Board to designate Bank of Bourbonnais, Centrue Bank, Certificate of Deposit Account Registry Service (CDARS), HomeStar Bank, Illinois School District Liquid Asset Fund, Municipal Trust and Savings Bank, and PMA Financial Network, Inc. as depositories for District funds.

<u>Architectural Firm</u> – Services of BLDD Architects be approved as the District Architectural Firm.

<u>Accounting Firm</u> – Continuation of services of Smith, Koelling, Dykstra, & Ohm approved as the auditing firm for the District.

<u>Legal Counsel</u> – Continuation of services of Canna and Canna, Ltd. as District legal counsel.

Reorganization
Of Board
Committees

Moved by Preston, seconded by Nelson to approve the committee members as presented:

	<u>Chairperson</u>	Second Member(s)
Finance Committee	Patrick Mallaney	Mike Nelson/Mark Stauffenberg
Buildings & Grounds	Sam Martin	Gary Preston/Mark Stauffenberg
Curriculum	Gale Dodge	Sam Martin
Technology	Jon Toepper	

Kankakee Special Education Cooperative Representative – Mike Nelson Career Center/KARVES Representative – Gary Preston Education Foundation Board – Mark Stauffenberg

Ayes: Preston, Nelson, Dodge, Mallaney, Martin, Toepper and Stauffenberg – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Adjournment Moved by Martin, seconded by Toepper to adjourn the meeting. Voice Vote – all ayes (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried. The open meeting ended at 7:50 p.m.

Board President, Mark Stauffenberg	Board Secretary, Patrick Mallaney

MKS/PM/df